The cheap is expensive in the end

Every time I get suckered in by what looks like a great deal, I feel the truth of this proverb. Last month, I wanted to decorate my house for the holidays for the first time in years, and I needed to get some lights. I kept seeing commercials for a gadget that you put in the yard, turn on, and thousands of sparkly lights appear all over, like magic! Only $19.95 plus  shipping and handling! OOOOOOOOO…

So I bought one, and when it arrived I immediately and excitedly set it up, turned it on, and it worked – for four days. I ended up spending more money to buy real lights. Once again, the siren song of a deal lured me in.

But this proverb doesn’t only refer to money. It’s also about the idea that there’s a shortcut way to get results. And while that idea is tempting, generally things just don’t work out that way. When I’m planning to go to the beach and want to look great in a bathing suit, I may think I can go on a quick weight loss plan with shakes or pills or some such. But when the big day arrives, I find myself at same weight, or sometimes more!

Ever cheat on a test? Try a get rich quick scheme? Expand a bit on the parameters of a diet (apple pie has apples therefore it is a fruit)? This proverb says that even though something may be hard or take longer, the results are worth the effort. The cheap is expensive in the end because shortcuts deprive us of the full experience – and we miss out on a bit of life’s richness. That is REALLY expensive.

I’d love to know what you think – please leave a comment!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The cheap is expensive in the end

  1. Like this post, and the blog. Simple, informative and humorous. But more than anything, very relative. Today’s culture tends to promote the shortcut or the cheap. As you mentioned, cheap sometimes turns out to be most expensive in the end. I am not advocating paying more than you have to, just get the best for the best.

    Like

  2. I think life is a mixed bag. There are bargains to be had, and there are rip-offs too as you suggest. Risks are everywhere in life. Now if you don’t take risks then I think life may pretty boring. But sometimes you get burned too. As Kipling said, “If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster And treat those two impostors just the same”. So I suggest you don’t have too many rules. Let life flow a little.

    Like

Leave a Reply

