Two rams can’t drink from the same watering hole.

I remember once going to a store to buy a bracelet. I found a beautiful silver one, with small opals all around between fine scrollwork. I saw a price tag next to it – only $110! Delighted, I asked the clerk to take it out of the case so I could purchase it, only to be told that the ticket was for something else and the bracelet was actually $150.

NO! I argued with the clerk and she argued with me, each of us insisting we were right. Me – the price tag is RIGHT BY THE BRACELET! Her – the bracelet COSTS $150! Back and forth we went, over and over, louder and louder…

In the end, I didn’t get the bracelet, and the store didn’t get the sale. Our insistence on being right made both of us wrong.

I forgot my what I came for in my zeal to be right – the bracelet! I could have easily asked for the owner to clear up the confusion, or simply paid the price given by the clerk. Wouldn’t that be giving up? Well, that depends on the goal,  being right or buying  jewelry.

This proverb reminds us that there are more important things than just being right – focus on the goal.  Battling over the water hole leaves both rams thirsty.

Leave a Reply

