Throw it out to the backyard

My tendency when something goes wrong is to relive it, either alone or with others. I guess that is okay with some things, like the fact that I didn’t have even one Powerball number, and it can feel good to get some sympathy. Hearing people validate my hurts and disappointments gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling of self righteousness – I deserve time to curl up in a ball away from everyone or soothe myself with a new pair of shoes or if it’s REALLY bad…chocolate! But sometimes, reliving things is a problem.

Throw it out to the backyard. The truth in this proverb is that reliving pain only keeps me hurting; the longer I wallow in the muck, the longer I’m stuck. There is another option:

Look at the situation, find the lesson and keep it, leave the rest behind and move on.

Sound cold? Maybe so, but to grow from painful experiences you have to get past them. It can feel good to talk with girlfriends about a terrible breakup, or with coworkers about what the boss did to you, or with writer friends about your rejected article.  Just consider how long  you really want to relive that feeling. And know that there is another option:

Look at the situation, find the lesson and keep it, and the rest?

Throw it out to the backyard.

 

 

 

One thought on “Throw it out to the backyard

  1. You summed it up in this statement – “Look at the situation, find the lesson and keep it, leave the rest behind and move on.” Absolutely concur! That is all there is to it, in order to relieve any hurt or pain. Thanks for sharing. Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment